William Shapiro Named to 2016 Faculty for ABA TIPS Trial Academy and ABOTA Trial College, and Invited to Present at Masters in Trial

Adjunct Professor William Shapiro has been named to the 2016 faculty of both The National Trial Academy sponsored by the Tort Trial & Insurance Practice Section (TIPS) of the American Bar Association and American Board of Trial Advocates (ABOTA) in Reno, Nevada, and ABOTA’s Trial College at Harvard Law School.  The Trial College is offered every two years, and Professor Shapiro was on the faculty in 2012 and 2014 as well.  Professor Shapiro also will be a featured presenter at ABOTA’s “Masters in Trial” presentation in Minneapolis, Minnesota, in May. Elected 2016 ABOTA National Secretary, Professor Shapiro has been invited and featured in numerous “Masters in Trial” presentations, including in Los Angeles, Orange County, Riverside, Sacramento, San Diego, San Bernardino, Santa Barbara, Arkansas, and Nashville.

Jennifer Koh Serves as Commentator for Scholarship Workshop

On Friday, April 15, Professor Jennifer Koh served as a commentator for an academic article presented at the Southern California Clinical Scholarship Workshop held at UC Irvine School of Law. The purpose of the workshop is to foster critical thinking about clinical education, provide a rigorous and supportive venue in which clinical scholars can present their work, and nurture a sense of community amongst clinical law professors in the southwest region of the United States.

Virginia Court of Appeals Cites Stacey Sobel

The Virginia Court of Appeals of Virginia cited Professor Stacey Sobel’s article, “The Tsunami of Legal Uncertainty: What’s a Court to do Post-McDonald?,” 21 Cornell J.L. & Pub. Pol’y, 489 (2012) in Prekker v. Commonwealth, 782 S.E.2d 604 (Va. Ct. App. 2016). Professor Sobel’s article was cited in the court’s discussion related to the Second Amendment and the appropriate standard of review to be applied to the appellant’s constitutional challenge to a Virginia statute temporarily banning firearm possession by non-violent juveniles who have been adjudicated delinquent for acts that would be felonies if committed by adults.

Cheyanna Jaffke Elected VP of Board of Directors for Release Time Christian Education of Orange

Professor Cheyanna Jaffke was recently elected Vice President of the Board of Directors for Release Time Christian Education of Orange. Professor Jaffke has served on the Board since 2013. Release Time Christian Education of Orange has shared God’s Word with 4th and 5th grade students in the Orange Unified School District since February 1954. Under the Released Time Religious Education Law (California Education Code section 46014), local school boards may give permission to release students once a week for religious instruction during the school day.

Jennifer Koh Speaks at Pepperdine Law School Conference

On March 12, Professor Jennifer Koh spoke at the Nootbaar Institute Conference at Pepperdine Law School. The theme of this year’s conference was “Doing Justice Without Doing Harm,” and Professor Koh’s talk was entitled, “Immigration Law and Policy Through the Lens of the Gospel and Grace.” Her comments were based on an essay she has written, “Agape Love, Grace and Immigration Law,” which is forthcoming in the book, AGAPE, JUSTICE AND LAW (Cambridge University Press, Robert Cochran and Zachary Calo, eds.)

Monica Todd Leads Students in National Child Welfare and Adoption Law Moot Court Competition

Professor Monica Todd led her team to the quarter finals at the National Child Welfare and Adoption Law Moot Court Competition in Columbus, Ohio, held March 11-12 in the Ohio Statehouse and the Ohio Supreme Court. Students Brittney Rodriguez and Andrew Mckeown competed against 26 teams from law schools across the country, with Andrew being named a Top 10 oralist.

Kevin Mohr, Elizabeth Jones, Cheyanna Jaffke Awarded Professor of the Year, Sarah Eggleston Awarded Librarian of the Year

The Western State College of Law Student Bar Association has recognized Professors Kevin Mohr, Elizabeth Jones, and Cheyanna Jaffke as the 2015-16 “Professor of the Year” for the 1L, 2L and 3L classes, respectively, and Sarah Eggleston was recognized as “Librarian of the Year.”  The awards were received at the law school’s annual Barrister’s Ball, held on March 5, 2016 at the Hotel Irvine.